So this year marks my first Chinese New Year's celebrated in Asia. The folks here adhere to many traditions that we in the US, even those who immigrated from Asia, don't adhere to as much. Basically, as it is in the US, it's an excuse to make tons of food at home with family and friends, as well as go out to nice restaurants to eat, over the course of 2 weeks. In terms of a celebration of gluttony, it's exactly like our Thanksgiving holiday (also get 2 days off from work/school), except the eating frenzy extended over a longer time period. But there are some details which I see here that aren't in the US. Just today I went to an NUS student's home (she is a native Singaporean), and there her parents greeted us with tons of New Year's traditional snacks and even hongbao for each of us who came (hongbao = red-colored packet of money that is given from adults to "children", or married to unmarried people). Back home I always got hongbao from my Asian side of the family, but I can't remember the last time a complete stranger whom I've never met before gave me one... it was really surprising for me. I was very glad that I was at least smart enough to bring some pineapple tarts for them, so I wouldn't look completely thoughtless. Although I still didn't bring my traditional two oranges/tangerines for them, which I noticed another native student presenting to our host when he arrived. Next time I'll know to do this, so hopefully I'll get another chance before the holiday ends. Anyway, the small gathering we had was very pleasant, and we even learned to play mahjong after stuffing ourselves with these Chinese pastry snacks, pork jerky, and watermelon seeds (the latter of which I personally avoid, but everyone else absolutely loves), as well as the classic Singaporean beer, "Tiger", which I never tried before. Mahjong is a tricky game, I need to learn the strategies before I can consider playing for money as many of the natives do.
Overall this weekend has been very relaxing for me. Some exchange students either went traveling if they didn't mind how expensive it was to do so during the holiday (you should read about the scale of mass-migrations in East Asia during the Chinese New Year's, it's ridiculous) or going out every so often to eat or go clubbing. I'm not a big fan of clubbing, although do like trance/dance/techno so maybe I'd try it once. From what I've heard it's obnoxiously loud music though... I might be only able to handle my favorite genres at lower volumes.
For myself I've seen a lot of movies/TV, either in the cinema or just downloading them in my dorm. Watched Inkheart (decent plot, crappy ending), Gran Torino (awesome, Clint Eastwood never gets too old), Ponyo on the Cliff by the Sea (new Miyazaki film... you know, the guy who did Totoro), as well as 4 weeks worth of Colbert Report (he seems less funny than I remember... I think it's his probable love of Obama that keeps Colbert from cracking as many jokes about him as he did for Bush). I thought I still had no assignments to do since my first day here (crazy, I know), but apparently I do have a short problem set that doesn't even count for a grade due tomorrow. Homework and problem sets are not a big concern here, it's mostly studying your ass off for midterms and finals, which, combined make up 70-100% of your grade. But I'll do the problem set anyway since we are going to discuss the answers tomorrow in tutorial. My classes are currently as follows:
1) Magnetic Methods for Information Storage
2) Power Electronics
3) Silicon Processing Technology
4) Solar Photovoltaic Energy Systems
I had a 5th class before, Digital Media Technologies, but I dropped it before we really got into the interesting part of the course, where we start a project about virtual/mixed reality. Our drop-deadline was very quick, just this past Monday, and I figured 5 classes would be too much so I had to choose pretty quickly, and that class I think I was least prepared for since it required some extensive knowledge of C++. But it did look interesting, just wish we didn't have to drop classes so quickly.
On top of that, I now have a tentative research position in the lab of one of my class's professors. I asked this professor on the first day of his class if there was room for me to register for his class, since I was denied the class on my original application for some strange reason. He was shocked that I couldn't register, and brought me over to the registrar's office himself after class and got the registrar lady to get all of my classes sorted out for me, which was really nice of him since that's pretty hard to deal with as a student in such a bureaucratic school. He then invited me over to his office to talk about my interest in research, where I found out he is apparently the deputy chair of the ELEC department at NUS, and a director for the prestigious Singapore-MIT Alliance program. He asked me about my research and seemed very impressed with my previous international experience, so he offered me a position in his own lab to work on some special silicon wafer fabrication, and naturally I accepted. I hope what I end up doing will have at least some relevancy to what I already do at Rice for Prof. Lou.
Well that's enough talking about work, time to actually do it. In terms of traveling I still have nothing planned, I'm so damn lazy about arranging this stuff unless other people are really bugging me to do something. Fortunately my dad and my sister are coming to visit during spring break when they will be forcing me to go with them to Thailand for a short stay... and then BACK to Hong Kong for a few days since dad has to visit his hometown before he leaves. Not that I don't mind, HK is cool.
Before I end, tip-of-the-day for S'pore: don't leave your tray from the foodcourt after you finished your meal in the MUSLIM-FOOD UTENSILS & TRAY ONLY area... I haven't done this but many other exchange students have, so be wise...
Oh and again, Happy Year of the Ox! I still remember what one other exchange student told us what he thought the end of the Year of the Rat meant... "So, you guys are not going to eat anymore rats this year?" :P